How important is packaging?

With Selfridges selling a limited edition jar of Crème de la Mer without the logo to mark the stores no-nose area, it got me thinking about how more and more of our favourite products are coming in limited edition form.

Special packaging in cosmetics is becoming more common place these days than ever before with many brands blinging up their products with Swarovski crystals to create must have Christmas gifts, or launching special sizes or limited edition colours, like Bare Minerals who later this month are lanching products in limited edition blue packaging.

Brand devotees will rush to pick up their favourite products in packaging that is out of the ordinary and the special packaging will create interest in customers who would usually go for anther brand. With brands knowing the packaging is just as important as the product inside I can see this being one beauty trend to stick around.

Aveda and Arden

Arden 8 Hour Cream and Aveda Clove Shampoo

Two products that I have picked up in the last few years in limited edition packaging have been an Aveda shampoo in the original 1970’s packaging and Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream in a 1950’s pot.

Aveda released their Clove Shampoo back in the 70’s and to mark the brands anniversary they brought the original packaging back. I decided to hang on to the bottle as they sell the clove shampoo in large bottles and I can decant into this next time I buy it.

Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream launched a number of limited edition jars a few years back. This one I used to keep next to my bed as I have dry skin on the lips and could put a nice layer on before I went to sleep. I kept hold of the jar, as it is easy to refill with the standard tube the product comes in.

  • Do you have any limited edition packaging that you love?
  • Do you wish your favourite brands would do more special packaging like this?
  • Leave a comment below and let me know what you think
Tags: , , , , ,

About scott

Male beauty blogger @ Scott's Beauty & Grooming Blog. I like chatting about beauty, grooming and life. Say hi :)

Leave a Reply

